Exploring Web 2.0 For The Classroom

Voki

Posted on: June 14, 2012

The other tool I tried out in my class was voki. This is a tool that allows you to create a avatar and put your voice or an automated voice to the avatar. I had never heard about this tool before but I think I have seen things like it while browsing the internet. Who knows, I could have seen a voki before! In class, we learned how to create our own voki. It was a free service, unless you want to pay for an upgrade. But the free tool is very useful. You have the ability to choose from a large selection of customizable settings for you avatar and the voice. I thought this was the best aspect of the tool. Students could have fun creating their own avatar and it is very easy to use.

It is a pretty neat tool to use in the classroom. For social studies, I could make a voki of a famous person and add some important speech or quote they said to it. It would be a good artifact to use to engage the students and keep them interested. I don’t think I would have students create their own voki because they may get distracted with all the different customizations. But, it could be a cool way to get them interested in a famous person. I would most likely use this tool in my class as a way to grab student’s attention at the beginning of a lesson.

I made a fun artifact to this tool…it is a poodle named Princess Fluffy living at Buckingham Palace with the Queen. I was able to put Buckingham Palace in the background, which was neat. There were a lot of background options. Also, I was able to make Princess Fluffy speak (or bark if you speak dog) in a British accent. I just typed what I wanted her to say but I would rather upload my own voice. I don’t know if it is something to do with wordpress or flash player but I was also unable to embed my voki artifact. I have put a picture of it and a link below.

Check out my voki here.

Leave a Reply

