Exploring Web 2.0 For The Classroom

QR codes

Posted on: June 28, 2012

QR codes…who knew they would be so fun to use in the classroom? I had no idea, I really had only seen them before and wondered what you could actually do with them. I think I tried to pull one up once when someone downloaded a QR reader to my phone but after that the app just sat hidden in my iPhone until class the other day. When I saw we were learning about them I questioned how would I be able to use these in my classroom. But, it turns out there are so many things you can do with a QR code! And there are many websites and tools that make creating your own code simple. You can basically link anything to a QR code.

QR codes are basically a barcode on steroids. It is 3-deminsional code that allows you to fit in more information. You can use one for business cards, resumes, URLs, pictures, websites, overviews, and the list goes on and on. Also, you can place them on anything you can print or paste something to. This person got creative and placed one on a coffee mug!

In class, we created QR codes to contain information about ourselves. To read the codes we created, we downloaded the iPhone app Qrafter. It was very easy to use and read codes in a matter of seconds! You can also make a code with this app, which I want to try eventually. We created out codes at this site, which was also very simple. One thing I really like about QR codes is how easy they are to create. I never knew you could create them on your own because they look so complex! Below is the “me-card” I made in class. If you open it on an iPhone, it brings you directly to a page with my information and allows you to save it to your phone.

I think the amount of things you can do with QR codes in the classroom is unlimited. It really depends on how creative you are. I think the best thing about them is how simple they are to incorporate and they will definitely make whatever you are doing more interesting and engaging for the students. I think about how to use them in the classroom and the first thing that pops into my head is a scavenger hunt. One way you could do this is by printing out a scavenger hunt assignment sheet and then have QR codes all over the classroom with websites that have the answers to the hunt’s questions. This would get the students out of their seats and I would have them working with partners or groups. I believe having students find information on their own is the best way for them to learn and this is a great way to do this. It could also be a good way for students to “meet” each other on the first day. They could make a form of “me-cards”, I would want them to have interesting facts about themselves included, and then post them around the room (like we did in class) and maybe try to match the person to the QR code or just learn about each other. I’m sure I could think of many more ways to use QR codes in the classroom and I believe I will incorporate these into my teaching at some point. I really like QR codes!

Leave a Reply

